My Top 10 Most Anticipated Manga of 2020

2019 is almost over and I’m ready for 2020 and for all of the new manga series that will be debuting in the coming year! Last week I took a look back at my top 10 manga of 2019 and I thought that this week I would look ahead to the coming year and discuss the upcoming releases that I am most excited about.

Here are the top ten picks for my most anticipated manga for 2020, in no particular order:

what's Michael1. What’s Michael? Fat Cat Collection: Dark Horse initially published What’s Michael? years ago and I remember reading several glowing reviews, but I missed my chance to pick it up at the time and it’s since long been out of print. Now that Dark Horse is bringing it back Igiven‘m eager to experience this surreal comedy starring Michael the cat and his friends and see it it’s as purrfect as I’ve heard!

2. Given: The anime adaptation of this BL manga about a group of kids in an amateur band had me enthralled by its emotional storytelling and touching romance. I’m looking forward to reading the source material and seeing what happens to the lead characters after the point where the anime concluded.

citrus+3. Citrus+: Citrus is one of my favourite yuri series; it’s funny, dramatic and sweet! While I was satisfied with the way the manga ended, I’m still excited to read this sequel so I can enjoy more time with all of my favourite characters. Citrus+ also takes place after the girls have come out to they’re friends and family and it will be nice to see what their relationship is like now that they can be open about their love. I’m expecting this follow up series to be just as much of a blast as the original!

4. Something’s Wrong With Us: This is a new josei manga series from the writer/artist somethings wrong with usof Kitchen Princess and Arisa. I’ve enjoyed all of the series I’ve read by this writer so far and I’m interested to see her tackle a more mature series, as all of the titles I’ve read by her previously have been aimed at teens. The description for this manga promises a suspenseful mystery and psychological drama. Sounds like it will be a thrilling read!

prince freya5. Prince Freya: This fantasy shojo series follows a young lady who must impersonate her kingdom’s Prince and try to stave off an invading force after the true Prince is poisoned. I love fantasy stories and this sounds like it will be an action packed series full of intrigue. Should be right220px-Ping_Pong_manga up my alley!

6. Ping Pong: I confess that I don’t actually know a lot about this series, besides the fact that it’s a sports manga about ping pong. But I’ve heard a lot of praise for this series, and a good sports story is always fun, so I’m looking forward to giving it a try.

spyxfamily7. Spy x Family: Technically chapters of this manga are already available via the Shounen Jump app, but the first volume of the print manga will be coming out in 2020, and it will be my first time reading it, so I’m counting it as a new release. Spy x Family is an action/comedy series about a spy who needs to find himself a fake family in order to carry out an important undercover mission. But his new wife is secretly an assassin and the girl they adopted has psychic powers! This series looks like it will be both hilarious and adorable and I can’t wait to see if it lives up to all of the hype I’ve been hearing about it!Maison_Ikkoku_vol01

8. Maison Ikkoku Collector’s Edition: Maison Ikkoku is a beloved series from Rumiko Takahashi, the writer/artist behind such hit series as Inuyasha and Ranma ½. I missed picking up this slice-of-life dramedy back when it was first released in English, so I’ve never actually had the chance to read it. After being out of print for so long, it’s great that this classic will finally be widely available again and that I’ll get a chance to experience it for myself.

sayonara football9. Sayonara, Football: This is a sports manga about a pair of girls’ soccer players, who were rivals in junior high, but who find themselves on the same team when they wind up attending the same high school. Sounds like a premise that’s ripe for drama and I’m excited to check out a sports series that focuses on a girls’ team.

10. The Rose of Versailles: I’ve been waiting a long time forthe rose of versailles this series to come out in English. The announcement that it had been licensed was actually made several years ago, but this was followed by a long stretch of time where we didn’t receive any updates on when it was going to be published. Now the time is finally here! A hugely popular and influential shojo series from the 70’s, The Rose of Versailles is a historical drama set prior to and during the French Revolution. It’s hard to overstate the impact this series has had on manga and anime and I’ve been dying to read it. Looks like it will have been worth the wait, as these hardcover editions look beautiful!

Well, those are the manga series that I’m most looking forward to this coming year. What are you looking forward to? And what did you think of my picks? Be sure to let me know in the comments.


Curious about what I thought of these series, once I got the chance to read them? Be sure to check out my reviews of these top picks:

BuyMeACoffee_blue@2x

18 thoughts on “My Top 10 Most Anticipated Manga of 2020

Add yours

    1. Yeah, Spy x Family looks like it will be a lot of fun and I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about it from friends who’ve been reading along on the Shounen Jump app. I’m excited to give it a try!

      Given was such a good BL anime, I’m hoping the manga will be just as good! 🙂

      Like

  1. I’m also pretty eager to read Given in 2020 (and maybe watch the anime) and I hadn’t heard about Something’s Wrong With Us but it sounds interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Given anime was really good! Great writing and the music is fantastic, I’m excited to read the source material and find out what happens next!

      I also think Something’s Wrong with Us looks really interesting. I really enjoyed Arisa, which was a mystery/thriller aimed at teens, so I think a series similar to that but aimed at an older audience should be great.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Spy x Family is awesome. Maison Ikkoku is good but I don’t see myself upgrading unless the CE is amazing. Prince Freya is definitely on my list. Farewell My Dear Cramer I didn’t care for but I know I was missing out on so much because it was a sequel, but I don’t know if I want to actually check it out. I’ve tried following along with Something’s Wrong With Us in Japanese but was confused. Has a cool theme but all I’ve gathered is that there’s a lot of hate and anger. Will try it out in English and hope it turns out better than Arisa.

    The Rose of Versailles though… I got to read a review copy, and let me tell you: gorgeous and amazing both in art and story. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now I’m even more excited for Rose of Versailles! Can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.

      I’d seen while researching it that Farewell My Dear Cramer (or Sayonara, Football, as Amazon refers to it) was a sequel but I was hoping it would be one that wouldn’t require you to have read the previous series. I’m a bit disappointed to hear that’s not the case, but I think I’ll still give it a try anyway. Maybe they’ll release the other series as well eventually…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑